Boet, I played rugby for first team in 2004! And other stereotypes.

What seems like a million years ago the schools we went to provided a certain identity for who we were. Now I may be biased but from what I remember there were certain stereotypes about the schools in Johannesburg.

Disclaimer: Please note I don’t actually think (most) of these thing, I’m just going on stereotypes from school, so no (more) hate mail please, if you do decide to slate my opinion remember I am wittier than you and you will lose.

Parktown Girls: Sporty, over achievers with a really bad uniform who had to wear stupid name badges and march through Pretoria for Women’s Day.

Parktown Boys: Really bad at rugby, really good at throwing house parties with a certain affinity for smoking large amounts of marijuana…and more recently very creative initiations

St. Marys: Really good at everything including handjobs and having perfect hair and clothes

K.E.S: Really good at rugby…make that all sports, but thicker than a thousand bricks

St. Johns: Stuck-up with an affinity for acid, pink Polo golf shirts and holding the most awesome socials

Kingsmead: Rich trust fund babies, who didn’t really have a concept of the world around them but had a nice tuckshop and pretty good at sport.

Roedean: Those flipping uniforms…enough said.

Greenside: Really good at taking drugs, like really good!

 

As we all grew up most of these stereotypes fell away although Kinsgsmead girls are still easily spotted in a crowd by their distinct “My upper lip really smells like poo” facial expressions. Look at that another joke!

Anyways moving along like I said these stereotypes fell away and some of my closest friends were people I once thought were heroin addicts or even worse stuck-up. The schools we went to don’t really matter.

Except of course for ant man that went to an all boy’s school.

Men who went to all boys schools generally travel in packs, wear their old sports tour shirts way too much and their greatest claim to fame is playing first tem rugby in 2004, well done! No really well done what else would you have to talk about to your friends at rugby fest every year besides the really hot girl you kissed when you were in grade 10?

I really don’t understand the obsession with your school years, unless you are the author of Spud and making millions off it would you please shut up. I’m proud of the school I attended and yes of course I miss it every now and then it was easy and fun, but I sure as hell don’t identify myself as a Parktown girl and chest bump my friends every time I see them and give the evil eye to the St. Marys girl I used to play sport against.

Is it a male ego thing? Or just a jock thing? Or is it just an all boys school thing that like attending H2o and matching tracksuits I will never be able to grasp.

 

Who knows…boet!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

