Everyone’s doing it!

I was sitting having a drink with my oldest friend laughing about the first time we got drunk …while you were getting married.

You were in the same grade us yet you were getting your hair curled into one of those awful wedding hairdos while we were watching the sunset over the JHB skyline.

You were saying ‘I do’ while we were laughing at the girl screaming for help because she got locked in the bathroom.

Fast forward two weeks and my Facebook page has been flooded with engagement rings, wedding pictures, pregnant bellies and babies still covered in afterbirth (yeah that one really happened). Is everyone having kids, settling down and doing grownup things?

I don’t have anything against any of this really I just don’t understand how people I grew up with are …you know… ‘doing it’. How did the girl who used to pride herself on having the loudest burps in my class get married…how did the guy who refused to call women anything except ‘bitches’ have a baby girl.

Holy responsibility! Does this mean we are adults now? Just the other day I was racing home to watch Pete and Pete followed by a Lizzie McGuire omnibus wishing I could get my hair just like hers. Suddenly I seem like the odd one out for having zero interest in squeezing out a child or planning a perfectly tacky wedding, chicken dance and all…although that is quite fun to do. I’m not even phased anymore when I log into Facebook and there is the guy who used to be able to take shots of whiskey through his eye holding his new-born’s umbilical cord between his teeth. In fact if I don’t get my daily dose of baby updates from people that I never actually speak to, I start getting broody.

Did I miss the ‘everyone’s doing it’ convention while I was dancing to Blink ‘What’s My Age Again’ thinking that this actually relates to me now because I am 23.

And that’s about the time that bitch hung up on me
Nobody likes you when your 23
And are still more amused by prank phone calls
What the hell is caller ID?
My friends say I should act my age
What’s my age again?
What’s my age again?

One comment on “Everyone’s doing it!

  1. Megan says:

    So true! I feel like I’m reading my thoughts, on life and love. Your most recent post cheers me up to know I’ll get there someday.

Leave a Reply

